The patience of a child

I say it all the time: I lack patience.

I am a “go-getter.” When I want something, I work hard at obtaining it. So when faced with a situation that requires me to wait patiently in order to acquire it, I struggle.

We all know the famous saying: “Patience is a virtue.” However, telling me that developing it will enable me to reach moral excellence is something that I hardly believe.

I admit that patience is something I need to work on. In fact, I am even working to apply the words of Ralph Emerson when he said, “Adopt the pace of nature: her secret is patience.”

Maybe it’s because I live in the “get it now” generation and have become accustomed to what technology has allowed. Maybe it’s because I’m a woman and I change my mind all of the time.

Whatever, the reason, I have now turned to children when looking to relate on the issue. Check it out. If nothing else, it’ll at least make you chuckle.

Leave a Reply

