Trusting your instinct is the best change you ever made

People who never take the first step will never take the second. In fact, spending too much time reflecting only prevents you from taking action.

I recently made a cross country move that many people could view as relatively insane. The decision to do so and actually making it happen occurred in a matter of a month.

What happened? I went off of an instinct. I didn’t question myself or weigh other opinions heavily. I said, “This is what I think is best for me” and I went with it.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that everyone should run around robbing banks and cheating on their significant others because it’s what their “instinct” told them to do. But what I am saying is that you should take some time to reflect on what you want to happen and then act.

My instinct told me that I should move to Atlanta. For those of you who have been reading my posts since the beginning you will know that this blog originated out of my first move to Chicago. At that time I was encouraging us all to embrace change and to make the best of ourselves from it.

It is important to understand that these two concepts are inevitably intertwined. In fact, most people neglect their instinct because they are afraid of change and the unknown.

So let me share one thing with you that may help. This past year I have done nothing but embrace change, and as a result have experienced the best year of my life.

As somebody once said, “Those who reflect too much will accomplish little.”

One thought on “Trusting your instinct is the best change you ever made

Leave a Reply

